ATV and snowmobile registrations are valid from July 1st through June 30th. Snowmobile registrations submitted on or before May 31st will expire on June 30th of the current year. Snowmobile registrations submitted on or after June 1st will expire on June 30th of the following year.
Forms needed –
- Registered Owner information
- Vehicle Information
- Credit/debit card (MasterCard, Visa)
- A printer in order to print a copy of your temporary registration
How to obtain – Invoices would come from the dealer on new dealer snowmobiles and the bill of sale would come from the private seller.
Snowmobile Registration Fees
- $46 (Resident)
- $50 (Non Resident 3 Day Registration)
- $76 (Non Resident 10 Day Registration)
- $100 (Non Resident Full Season)
For more information, please visit: IFW ATV & Snowmobile Registration | Department of Inland Fisheries & Wildlife (maine.gov)
ATV Fee Increase (Effective as of May 1, 2022)
Resident ATV Season: $45.00 to $70.00
Non-Resident ATV Season: $90.00 to $115.00
Non-Resident ATV 7-Day: $75.00 to $100.00
POLICY EFFECTIVE IMMEDIATELY:
Prior Registration/License is required to process Inland Fisheries & Wildlife Transactions.
Current Maine Driver’s License is Required by Law for Proof of Maine Residency.
Stickers are available May 1 and expire June 30 of the registration year.
Forms needed – New Dealer ATV registrations require the invoice showing that the customer paid sales tax. New Private Sales ATV registrations require a Bill of Sale stating the date of the sale, the make, year serial number and the cost of the ATV with the previous owner’s information.
Re-registrations require the previous year’s registration, but if the customer does not have the old registration we do our best to search the system to find the correct machine.
How to obtain – Invoices would come from the dealer on new dealer ATV’s and the bill of sale would come from the private seller
Fees – Resident Fees: New Dealer registrations – $35.00; new private sale $33.00 state fee, $2.00 agent fee and 5.5% sales tax on the price on the bill of sale.
$54 (Non-Resident 7 Day Registration)
$69 (Non-Resident Full Season)
Process – Bring in the appropriate paperwork as described above. Re-registration for Maine residents may be renewed online through Maine.gov.
Forms needed: Current rabies certificate and Neuter/Spay Certificate or proof of Neuter/Spay such as an invoice.
How to obtain: The customer obtains the rabies certificate and the Neuter/Spay Certificate from their veterinarian.
Fees: $6.00 for a neutered/spayed dog; $11.00 for a male/female capable of producing young; $42.00 for a kennel license. There is a $25.00 late fee plus the license fee if the dog is not licensed by January 31st of the licensing year.
Process: The customer brings in the current rabies certificate for their dog(s), we update the licensing information, print a copy of the dog license for the owner and they receive a new tag. We keep a copy of the dog license signed by the owner on file in our office. If a customer has lost their dog’s rabies certificate we can look their license up in our system to see if the last rabies certificate is still valid.
Forms needed: It is helpful if the customer brings in the old registration to do a re-registration, if not we do our best to search the Inland Fisheries & Wildlife site ‘Moses’ to find their registration. New boat registrations from a dealer require the invoice showing where they paid sales tax. A private sale for a new boat registration requires that they have a Bill of Sale with the Make, Year, Serial Number, length of the boat, and the size motor that will be used on the boat.
How to obtain: Dealer sales the customer would get their invoice from the dealer they purchased the boat from and this would have all the necessary information on the boat as well as the sales tax. On a private sale the person they purchased the boat from would need to include all the information including how much the boat cost.
Fees: Excise tax is charged according to the Year, Length and Motor Size, we have a chart that we go by.
The registration fees set by the State are: 0-10 horsepower $15.00 (No Milfoil), 11-50 horsepower $20.00 (No Milfoil), 51-115 horsepower $26.00 (No Milfoil), 116+ horsepower $34.00 (No Milfoil), Personal watercraft $34.00 (No Milfoil)
Duplicate registration and sticker $2.00, Boat Temporary Transfer $4.00. We also carry Milfoil Stickers for use on out of state boats and seaplanes $19.00. There is a $1.00 agent fee attached to all re-registrations and a $2.00 agent fee on new registrations.
Process: On a dealer sale the customer brings in the dealer invoice. On a private sale the customer brings in bill of sale. They will receive their new registration and stickers at the time of the transaction.